Cyrano de Bergerac – Edmund Rostand

Image

Well hello there! To the four people that read this blog, sorry I haven’t posted anything in a while. Life has been a tad crazy lately, I started new hours at work and I had grad events for my little sister last week. She looked gorgeous at her dinner and dance, and won two big awards at convocation which is amazing and awesome and I’m ridiculously proud of her. Plus, she is coming to my university in September, and I’m ecstatic.

Anyway, I did manage to sneak some reading in between all the family visits and yard work and getting dressed up for things. I’m currently reading Lord of the Rings, and I just finished Fellowship, but I want to finish all three volumes before I post about it. And I also may have to take a break between Two Towers and Return of the King to read The Silmarillion, because I borrowed it from a friend (thanks again, Alex) and I want to get it back to him in a reasonable time. Alright so it won’t be all that reasonable, but hopefully I won’t have it so long that he gets mad at me.

All that being said, I also read Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmund Rostand. I originally read this lovely play in grade eleven and I loved it. Which is good, because my teacher had made us read Ethan Frome beforehand, and I hated that one. So I guess it all evened out.

Cyrano to me is the perfect gentleman. He is chivalrous, unselfish, brave, and polite. He stands up to bullies and he will do anything for his friends. He is almost a French musketeer version of Robin Hood, without the outlaw status and the archery.

Now, it’s almost 1 a.m. so I’m just going to skip most of the important plot points and little details and the fact that the woman Cyrano loves is his cousin and fast forward straight to the end of the story. (If you haven’t read Cyrano de Bergerac, I’m sorry but I don’t have enough patience or energy to write up a synopsis. Sparknotes it.) Cyrano receives a life threatening head wound, and knowing he is dying rushes to the home of the woman he loves to see her one last time. She finally realizes it was Cyrano that was writing the letters the whole time and that he was the soul she was supposed to love, but it is too late. Cyrano dies just after she proclaims her love for him, and this for me was the most intriguing part of the story. So many of the plays I have read end in “happily ever after”, excluding Shakespeare, of course (he’s kind of a malicious jerk to his characters, isn’t he), so for Rostand to end his story in the way he did was both surprising and refreshing. However, I did feel for Cyrano. I’ve been there, dude. Not with the dying from a head wound obviously, but the helping a friend win the person you love thing. So Cyrano, I commend you. I guess the moral of the story is if you love someone, tell them. Don’t hide your feelings because you are insecure about your obnoxiously large nose and then go on to help your friend woo them instead, because they’ll probably realize just before you are killed by a falling log that they really loved you all along. Or something along those lines. I don’t know, it’s late. Goodnight!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

