The Fault In Our Stars – John Green

Image

Two reviews in two days?! Crazy!

It’s a new personal best for me in the blogosphere. Well done, Lindsey.

Alright, let’s get serious. The Fault In Our Stars is one of the most heartbreaking, emotional, inspiring, gut wrenching stories I have ever read. I picked it up after hearing wonderful things about it from one of my best friends, Allie, as well as watching a YouTube video of book reviews from the lovely Carrie Hope Fletcher. (Yeah I’m a Hopeful.)  I was not prepared for the onslaught of feelings that I encountered about two pages in. I even tried to read it on my breaks at work. Big mistake. This is one of those books that you have to take into a quiet place. Your bedroom would work, if you happen to be an awesome person and have a reading nook in your house, even better. And if you have a library you can escape to, well, I guess you win. Can I come live with you, oh library owner? Please? I’m pretty good at baking, I’ll make muffins for you? No? Okay.

Once I retreated into my bedroom and locked myself in for the evening, I dove right back in to the story of Hazel Grace and Augustus. Now, I don’t even want to get into the story, because I don’t want to ruin it for anyone who hasn’t read the book. However, I will say that there is a huge surprise that I kind of saw coming but still wasn’t expecting or ready for. I haven’t felt so much for a fictional character since I read The Book Thief. Once I finished The Fault In Our Stars, I looked down at the pillow I was leaning on, and there was a wet spot the size of my hand from all the tears I had shed. Maybe you know from reading other blog entries by now, but I don’t cry easily. So for a book to make me cry, I have to feel extremely deeply for it. I can list the books I’ve cried over: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, The Book Thief, and The Outsiders. So it’s a pretty big deal.

In all the other reviews, if that is what you want to call them, I’ve listed some of my favourite quotes. And I would love to do that here, there are so many of them. But it would ruin so much for the first time reader. So I won’t share any plot revealing quotes. I will, however, share two that won’t spoil anything. They simply describe the two ways I feel about the books I love. “Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” Often, I finish reading a book and I recommend it to everyone I know, everyone I might know, and everyone I come into contact to. That’s what happened with The Fault In Our Stars. But other times, there are “Books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like a betrayal.” Although the second scenario is less common, I have noticed that they can occur one after the other for the same book. When this happens, like for The Book Thief, right after I finish reading I don’t want anyone else to know about the book, my book, that I’ve just read. When I finished reading the last four Harry Potter books, I didn’t want to talk to anyone about them for at least a few hours. Once I came out of my book coma, I was more open to discussing my feelings, recommending the book to people, and sharing my thoughts. I know I’m rambling here, sorry. My brain isn’t very high functioning past 11:30.

A few days after finishing The Fault In Our Stars, I met my friend Allie at Chapters. She found me debating which John Green book to buy next. After I told her I finished The Fault In Our Stars, we had a little emotional moment where we stared at each other, talked about our favourite moments, and hugged it out while holding back tears. In the middle of Chapters. At 9:30 p.m. We’re really cool people, if you haven’t noticed yet.

I went out with my friend Alex, the Silmarillion lender, last night. He just happened to bring me my copy of Firefly as well as one for Allie (who also knows him) signed by Nathan Fillion and Gina Torres. Awesome possum! It was pretty solid. I have also been informed that I should warn people that cancer is a main plot point, as people who have a history with cancer may be a little extra emotionally invested. So here is everyone’s warning: if cancer is a particularly tough or touchy topic for you, if you have cancer, or if you have lost someone you love to cancer, read with caution. I wept, and I’ve never really had to deal with cancer. Keep that in mind!

To finally conclude all of this: go read this book. It is wonderful, definitely in my top 10 books I’ve read in the last 2 years. Have a wonderful Labour Day weekend and be your best you. (That’s a reference from the book. Read it.)

P.s. I’ve just bought six more books, including The Spectacular Now, Gods Behaving Badly, The Giver, The Anansi Boys, The Ender’s Game, and The Maze Runner. So for all of the books that I have finished lately, my to be read list continues to grow. Plus I have a 45 page list of books that I want to read at some point in my life saved on my computer. Oh well. TTFN!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Fault In Our Stars – John Green

  1. You have to read Looking for Alaska! It’s my favourite John Green novel. 😀

Leave a Reply

