Allegiant – Veronia Roth

Image

HOLY COW!

Don’t read this if you don’t want spoilers. Or if you don’t want to read about my tears. Because there’s going to be a lot of that. I’m not going to give you any life updates this time around, this post is actually about a month overdue so we’ll get right to the point.

Alright, so I finished reading Allegiant, the last book in the Divergent series, and boy oh boy did I get invested. First of all, as you may have found out from reading my last post on the Divergent series, link will be at the bottom if you are really interested, I completely adore Four/Tobias. I adore him. And so when I heard that the story was to be told from both Tris and Tobias’ point of view, I was intrigued and a little hesitant. The first two books weren’t told from his point of view, so I thought it might mess with the flow of the story a little bit. I did notice this, and I found it hard to keep track of whose point of view I was reading from because they were very similar in tone. That being said, it didn’t take so much away from the story that I didn’t still love it.

Though I didn’t want to admit it now, nor did I want to admit it at the time, I saw the ending happening. THIS IS WHERE THE SPOILERS COME IN!!! As soon as Caleb was chosen/voluntold to die, I knew Tris wouldn’t let that happen. She is too good, too self sacrificing, too responsible for that. The Abnegation in her made sure of that. However, I pushed all of these thoughts away in the midst of my mad dash to the finish, and that’s when the tears started. As soon as it was made clear in the story that Tris was staying, I lost it. Tears and tears and tears, and then just when I thought I was done there were more tears. Which was okay, since I was in my basement curled up on my favourite chair and no one was judging me except my dad, who just looked over and gave me a “oh, she’s just reading again” look and carried on with his life. In the meantime, I was grieving for a friend who never existed, but who I knew more intimately than most of the people I’ve ever met. And did I ever grieve. I went though all five stages. Denial, that was short lived. Anger, I threw the book on the ground when I finished reading and didn’t even feel bad. Bargaining, but it was more bargaining with myself. “If you pull yourself together and get some control, you can go have some popcorn and watch Castle…” Depression, but that happens fairly regularly when I finish a great book or series. It’s that “I’ll never again experience this book/series for the first time, never again live alongside these characters and experience our adventures together without already knowing, never again know the thrill of a plot twist, and the worst, I’ll never again watch as they discover themselves and each other” kind of feeling. I call it Post Book Depression, or PBD for short. Let me tell you, my Post Potter Depression was rough, lasted about a week or two.

Anyway, I was really impressed with Roth’s ability to pull her readers into the story and extract emotion from them. However, there were some serious plot holes, the whole two view points thing bothered me, and the way the story was laid out and the ideas were explained seemed very stiff here and there. However, there are some beautiful moments, especially the very end. When Tobias scatters Tris’ ashes, having his point of view is wonderful. I’m going to list some of my favourite quotes, taken completely out of context as per usual, and hope that they are a good incentive for you to read the book. Preferably after you read Divergent and Insurgent, but do whatever you’d like.

“I suppose a fire that burns that bright is not meant to last.”

“I fell in love with him. But I don’t just stay with him by default as if there’s no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me.”

“She taught me all about real sacrifice. That it should be done from love… That it should be done from necessity, not without exhausting all other options. That it should be done for people who need your strength because they don’t have enough of their own.”

“I wonder if fears ever really go away, or if they just lose their power over us.”

“I belong to the people I love, and they belong to me–they, and the love and loyaty I give them, form my identity far more than any word or group ever could.”

“But when I do feel all the strength go out of me, and I fall to my knees beside the table and I think I cry, then, or at least I want to, and everything inside me screams for just one more kiss, one more word, one more glance, one more.”

“If I don’t survive,” I say, “tell Tobias I didn’t want to leave him.”

Alright, see what I’m talking about? Emotion? No? Maybe you needed some context.

Completely unrelated to what I was just talking about, I really did not enjoy Nita’s character or her storyline or anything else about her. It felt like Roth included her just to have a way to explain the reason the projects were set up and I find that frustrating.

Finally, I need to include some info about the Divergent movie coming out! I don’t know when it comes out, or who the male lead is off the top of my head or anything useful, but Shailenne Woodley plays Tris. She is also starring in The Fault In Our Stars, which is super exciting if she can pull off both of these starring roles. Fun fact: the actor who plays Augustus in TFIOS is playing Caleb in Divergent, so he is going from playing Shailenne Woodley’s lover to her brother. Weird.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Next up, Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber by Dianna Gabaldon.

P.s. I’m aware that this isn’t a very intelligent or insightful post, I’m exhausted and short on time. Sorry!

Divergent and Insurgent: https://whatshesreadingnow.wordpress.com/2013/07/25/divergent-and-insurgent-veronica-roth/

Related posts:

http://kristenmbroyles.wordpress.com/2014/01/14/divergent-series-insurgent/

http://rwcoffee.wordpress.com/2014/01/14/the-divergent-trilogy/

http://bookcastles.wordpress.com/2014/01/14/lets-talk-about-allegiant/

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

