Gods Behaving Badly – Marie Phillips

Gods Behaving Badly

I’m just going to get this out there. This was not a fantastic book. Funny and entertaining? Yes. Intelligent or well written? Not so much. I enjoyed reading it, because it was humorous and I quite enjoyed the characters, however it’s not top shelf. (See what I did there? Top shelf? Like the top shelf of a book shelf? Whatever. I think I’m funny.) I appreciated it even more than I think I normally would have because my friend Alex recommended it to me, and we met in a Classics course at university, so that added some perspective of sorts.

So basically the Greek Gods of the past are now reduced to living in a run down townhouse in London, bored and cranky, slowly losing power as fewer and fewer people each year believe in them. They spend there days bickering with each other, using what power they have left for entertainment, and/or wallowing in self pity. Artemis, the goddess of hunting and chastity, is determined to make things right in the world. She hires Alice, a down on her luck cleaner, to clean the townhouse, and Alice winds up in a bucket load of trouble. Artemis’s brother (I think, but I don’t remember. Could be cousin.) *Edit- Alex, classics major that he is, has informed me that they were twins. If you’re interested, there’s more info in his comment below.* Apollo ensnares Alice and becomes her lover, which Neil, who fancies himself in love with Alice. Suddenly quiet, mousy Alice is caught in Apollo’s schemes to return himself to his former glory, and long story short ends up dead at the hands (lightning bolt, really) of Zeus, the family patriarch.

Neil, who was with Alice at the time of her untimely demise (Neil and her had FINALLY progressed from friends to courting), is willing to go to the ends of the earth to get Alice back, and with the help of Artemis finds himself in the underworld trying to find Alice and save her from Hades. He finds himself at the river Styx, which I quite enjoyed because I had always heard mentions of Styx but I never knew what it was, and eventually saves Alice and restores the gods to their former glory.

The two mortals in the story, Alice and Neil, are really quite boring. What makes the book worth reading is the gods. The family dynamics are quite hilarious, the dialogue and events that occur are so entertaining. For a quick, easy read I would definitely recommend this one. I finished it in a day, it’s not a long or hard read. It’s not life changing by any means, but it’s fun. Fluffy, but fun.

On an unrelated note, a reader asked me if I use Goodreads and if I could link to my page. So here it is if you were interested. If you have read Gods Behaving Badly, have any recommendations for me, or anything else you’d like to share, let me know in the comments! Sorry this is so short, I’m off to class. Have a happy afternoon!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Gods Behaving Badly – Marie Phillips

  1. Alex

    Apollo and Artemis are twins, brother and sister, born from the union of Zeus and Leto. This could have been avoided if you asked me

    • Haha thank you. I can just see you stewing over the fact that it’s wrong and I’m really considering not editing it… But since you were kind enough to help me out I suppose I should put in an edit 🙂

      • Alex

        I wasn’t stewing, at least you remembered they were related, unlike some people taking classical mythology I’ve had to help

Leave a Reply

