The Maze Runner – James Dashner

The Maze Runner

Yesterday was my one year anniversary of starting this blog. The lovely people at WordPress sent me a notification to let me know, otherwise I never would have realized.

Similar to The Giver, I’ve been semi-curious about The Maze Runner for several years, but I never picked it up. Once I finally did, I was interested right from the get go. I found the premise and the idea of the book very intriguing, I was enthralled with the characters right away. However, I had some issues with the writing. There was little to no character development, and even the smartest characters were not very bright. Thomas, the main character, was completely one dimensional, I really did not like the way Dashner wrote his inner monologue. Dashner tells the reader how Thomas felt instead of allowing the reader to feel with Thomas.

My other problem was the language used. It was just silly, using shuck instead of f**k and clink instead of s**t. It didn’t add anything, and if cursing was going to be an important part of the story then why not just use the standard words?

All of this aside, I still enjoyed the story enough to pursue the sequels. I haven’t gotten around to reading them yet, but I will. The story reminded me of the Divergent series, especially the end. The Maze Runner ends in a cliff-hanger of sorts, so I was a tad confused, which makes me even more interested in reading the sequels!

There was some humour to Dashner’s writing that I quite enjoyed. It’s very sarcastic, which kept me entertained even as I was ticked right off with people being stung by giant mechanical wasps and so on. Examples include:

“It’s kind of hard to ask a dead guy what he did wrong.” 

“But there was something about the largest object in the solar system vanishing that tended to disrupt normal schedules.” 

“If you’re going to decipher a hidden code from a complex set of different mazes, I’m pretty sure you need a girl’s brain running the show.” 

Right up my alley.

The Maze Runner reminded me of Divergent, the way the kids were placed in the maze situation in order to find the smartest kids, to make society better. Similar to the way the factions were set up in Divergence to create the best people in the experiments. I just found the similarities very striking, the way both had an “evil” leader of the experiments, and the use of children.

Alright, I’m off to bed. One of these days I’m going to take the time to sit down and write one of these out with actual insights and intelligent thoughts, but it is not this day. Goodnight! TTFN!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Maze Runner – James Dashner

  1. Pingback: The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure and The Kill Order – James Dashner | whatshesreadingnow

  2. I’m looking forward to reading this!!

Leave a Reply

