One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories – B.J. Novak

download

Happy Christmas Eve! I’m currently on the way to my grandma’s house out of town for Christmas. I’m so excited I only see her and that side of the family a couple times a year, so it’s always an adventure. I’m usually super excited for Christmas, last year I even painted Christmas trees on to my nails. This year I haven’t been as Christmasy (it’s a word, don’t judge). I think it’s because we only have about 4 inches of snow and it’s been super warm lately, which normally I would have absolutely no problem with but it just doesn’t feel like Christmas in my city. My grandma’s city has had plenty of Christmas weather though so hopefully that will be a little better. In other news, my face is still sore. Getting better though!

Okay so I don’t normally enjoy short stories, there’s just never enough for me to feel fulfilled. I loved B.J. Novak in The Office though, so I decided to give it a shot. I’m so glad I did. Not only did I immensely enjoy this book it opened me to the possibility of reading other collections of short stories. I’m going to get into my favourite bits of this book, but seriously just read it!

Novak does a really good job of reinventing several legends, like the Tortoise and the Hare, and creating new legends like the invention of the calendar. The calendar story is one of my favourites, actually. Several of the stories’ have characters that intertwine, which always makes me happy, and these were also some of my favourite stories. Like the girl who gives great advice, which is quite introspective.

Many of the stories have classic morals with modern twists, many of them are commentaries on modern society (with hilarity woven in), and many of them are just hilarious. If you are looking for a last minute gift for your fellow book lover or just want some easy reading over the Christmas break I would definitely suggest this book. I don’t have enough good things to say about it.

I’m going to keep this short because, you know, Christmas Eve, so I’ll see you on the other side! MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

