The Christmas Miracle of Jonathon Toomey – Susan Wojciechowski and P.J. Lynch

downloadMerry Christmas! I hope you are all having a super fantastic day, and spending time with lots of family and friends. In the spirit of Christmas I thought I would share my favourite Christmas book. My dad brought this book home for my little sister and I when we were young, and we read it every Christmas Eve until I was around 15. Then we started watching Sound of Music Christmas Eve., but it is still my favourite Christmas book.

To start with, the artwork in this book is just beautiful. The illustrations are intricate and detailed, with expressive faces and gorgeous scenery. Like this page from the book, I just love their faces and the way they look at each other.

download (1)

The story is gorgeous, it’s such a beautiful story. Mr. Toomey, a grumpy, gloomy wood-carver is asked by a widow and her son to recreate a wood carving set that was carved by the widows grandfather. Mr. Toomey takes on the job, not happily albeit, but he agrees. Over the days of work, the widow and her son Thomas come by and watch him work. Thomas is so cute, he tries to be very quiet and still. Every day he visits, he holds in sneezes and hiccups, sitting so still his legs fall asleep. The only time he speaks up is to correct Mr. Toomey’s work. The sheep should look happier, the angel should be important looking. These are clearly very important to Thomas, which Mr. Toomey notices and works accordingly.

As the story progresses, you learn more and more of Mr. Toomey’s back story, exactly why he is so grumpy and gloomy, and if this weren’t a Christmas story you’d suspect he’d never be cheery again. However, this is a Christmas story, so clearly it has a happy ending. I’m not going to tell you what that ending is, but it’s cute and you should read it.

As I was reading this the other day, my dad shared this awesome tidbit with me: IT’S BEEN MADE INTO A MOVIE! YAY! I’m going to find it online as soon as I get home.

What are you’re favourite Christmas books? Does anyone have anything other than The Grinch or T’was the Night Before Christmas? Let me know! I’m off to help my grandma with dinner, I hope you’re all having a fantastic day. Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

