Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim – David Sedaris

download

Well hello again! Sorry it’s been so long, you know the drill; school was crazy, I had midterms, and then it was reading week and I was in Florida hanging out with Captain America. Yup, you read that correctly. I’ll put up some pictures once I get organized.

I read Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim by David Sedaris while in Florida. I’ve heard good things about Me Talk Pretty One Day, also by Sedaris, so I thought I would give this a try. Here’s the best way to sum this one up: it was okay.

From what I understand, this is supposed to be a humour book. Sedaris is supposed to be a humourist. I was supposed to laugh. Preferably out loud. And did I? No. No I did not.

Honestly, I found this more sad than funny. Sedaris’ family doesn’t trust him with stories about their lives because they know he’ll write about them. One of his sisters spent the majority of her teen years in a juvenille detention type school where the people in charge putted golf balls into the teens mouths. All of the stories about his father were about how his dad let his family down in some way or another. His mother, well honestly he makes her sound pretty great.

One of the saddest stories was when David stayed at the home of one of his sisters. She and her husband have two parrots, one belongs to her and one to her husband. Her parrot likes to repeat phrases the sister says, at the time of his visit it was repeating daily affirmation phrases. ***SPOILERS*** The story ends with Sedaris creeping downstairs to where the parrot is kept and repeating “please forgive me” over and over again, feeling bad for publishing stories about his family. That’s just depressing. I realize every family has its problems, and the only information I have about this guys family is from this book, but man are they weird.

There were a few stories that were humourous, most of the stories about Sedaris’ brother and the stories about his time as a house cleaner were quite entertaining.

It boils down to this: if you liked Sedaris’ previous books you’ll probably like this one. I’ve never really read essay style books, and this wasn’t the best introduction to them. It’s not something I would read again, and it didn’t turn me on to the rest of Sedaris’ works. Sayonara, Sedaris.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim – David Sedaris

  1. Sedaris’s humor tends to come from the realities of life, which can often be sad. If you ever feel like giving him another go, I suggest “Let’s Explore Diabetes With Owls.” Its a little more mellow, and the humor is more forthright.

  2. Great review! If you’d like some more, feel free to check out my site and follow! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

